Campus News: Poole Receives 2022 Excellence in Scholarship Award

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
Poole Receives 2022 Excellence in Scholarship Award
Merritt Jenkins - 5/23/2022

Dr. Bryan Poole is the recipient of this year's Lee University Excellence in Scholarship Award.


​Dr. Bryan Poole, associate professor of psychology, has been named the recipient of Lee University's 2022 Excellence in Scholarship Award.

The winner of this award is chosen each year by the Faculty Scholarship and Research Committee. Lee President Dr. Mark L. Walker officially recognized Poole for this award during the university's May commencement.

"Dr. Bryan Poole has proven himself to be one of Lee University's most dedicated faculty members, and his scholarly work is well deserving of this honor," said Walker. "His scholarship is an excellent contribution to the university and to the academy at large."

Dr. Poole joined Lee's faculty in 2013, earning his Doctor of Philosophy in experimental psychology at the University of Alabama in 2014. He teaches courses at Lee in basic, advanced, and independent research methods and statistics, as well as learning and cognition. Poole also conducts research with his students on various topics, such as emotion, attention, and time perception.

"As an alumnus of Lee whose interest in research was sparked in a sophomore-level psychology course, winning this award means so much to me," said Poole. "It's an award I share with my students, who conduct research and travel to conferences with me every year."

Poole is a member of the Society for Teaching of Psychology, the Southeastern Psychological Association, and the Council for Undergraduate Research. Poole is also the chair of the Institutional Review Board.

He is married to Dr. Betsy Poole, who teaches full time at Lee in the Department of Language and Literature.

The Excellence in Scholarship Award is one of three faculty excellence awards recognizing teaching, scholarship, and advising. They are considered the highest honors bestowed on Lee faculty each year.

Created at by
Last modified at by