Campus News: Eades Named 2022 Presser Scholar

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
Eades Named 2022 Presser Scholar
- 5/5/2022

Dr. William Green, right, presents Lynne Eades with the 2022 Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award.

Lynnae Eades, a junior piano performance and music education double major from Fairmont, West Virginia, was recently named Lee University's 2022 Presser Undergraduate Scholar. She was recognized for this honor during the April Masterworks Concert.

The Presser Foundation, established by music publisher Theodore Presser, is dedicated solely to the support of music and music education. With its Undergraduate Scholar Award, the Pennsylvania-based foundation recognizes music students who exemplify high academic and musical accomplishment, leadership, and citizenship at accredited colleges and universities across the country.

"Lynnae Eades is a remarkable student, excelling in the classroom, as a musical performer, and in collaborative work with our ensembles and fellow artists," said Dr. William Green, dean of Lee's School of Music. "She clearly represents the exceptional talents and ability we all aspire to as scholars and musicians."

At Lee, Eades has been a section leader, student conductor, and is currently president and accompanist for Ladies of Lee. She is also involved in Opera Theatre, Chamber music ensembles, and has collaborated with faculty and students on multiple occasions. Eades is from the piano studio of Dr. Jonathan Jung. She also serves in the School of Music's Office of Events as box office manager. She is a tutor for music history, music theory, and aural skills classes, and is a member of the honor society Pi Kappa Lambda, the Collegiate National Association for Music Education, and American Choral Directors Association.

In recent years, Eades has been a prize winner at the CMTA and CMC music competitions. She has also participated in numerous festivals including the Lee University Collaborative Festival (2020, 2021), and the Lee University Piano Festival and Competition (2018, 2021). In May of 2022 she will attend the Collaborative Piano Institute Piano Technique Intensive Festival at Louisiana State University.

After graduation, Eades plans to pursue a master's degree in music with an emphasis in either performance, collaboration, or pedagogy. She hopes to teach collegiately and continue practicing and performing music.

As the 2022 Presser Scholar, Eades will receive a cash stipend for her upcoming school year.

"I could not be more honored, humbled, and grateful for this award. The School of Music faculty and staff have shared their knowledge and support freely and are incredible examples of who I want to be as an educator and musician," said Eades.

Presser Undergraduate Scholar Awards are distributed to a number of accredited institutions throughout America. Past recipients of Lee University include Mary Nerren (2021), Lauren Mills (2020), Elizabeth Clark (2019), Danae Bromley (2018), Brittany Martin (2017), Kristiana McCombs (2016), Matthew Kelly (2015), Joey Archer (2014), Erica Tipton (2013), Matthew Wilkinson (2012), Lamprini Lindeman (2011), Christopher Oglesby (2010), Sabbath Ward (2009), Rachael Skidmore (2008), Michael Land (2007), and Brooke Upton (2006).

For more information on the Presser Foundation, visit

For more information on Lee's School of Music, visit or call (423) 614-8240.


Created at by
Last modified at by