Campus News: Riggins and Patterson Named 2021 Tucker Scholars in Nursing

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
Riggins and Patterson Named 2021 Tucker Scholars in Nursing
Shayna Ryan - 9/17/2021

Riggins and Patterson Named 2021 Tucker Scholars in Nursing 


Zoe Riggins and Destiny Patterson have been named the 2021-22 Tucker Scholars for nursing. 


Riggins, a junior nursing major and Cleveland native, first received the renewable award in 2020-21 and is continuing as a Tucker Scholar for the second year.  


"I am so very thankful for the Tucker Foundation's contribution toward local students and their career goals," said Riggins. "As a nursing student, receiving this scholarship has given me a tremendous boost of confidence to be a future nurse, and it has also helped me to continue to push myself to be the best version of myself I can be. I am honored to know that the Tucker Foundation is by my side as I continue my journey through nursing school and strengthen the skills I need to provide excellent patient care." 


Riggins is also a student worker in the Helen DeVos College of Education dean's office and works at Lupi's Pizza. While studying nursing and working two jobs, Riggins has maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout her time at Lee. 


"Zoe is a wonderful student who is thriving in the School of Nursing," said Dr. Nancy LaBine, associate professor of nursing at Lee. "It is a pleasure to have her in class and to watch her strive for excellence in her nursing journey." 


Patterson, a freshman nursing student also from Cleveland, was selected for the Tucker Scholar award to begin her first semester of college.  


"Receiving this scholarship has allowed me to expand my knowledge and made my dreams a reality," said Patterson. "As a first-generation college student, this means the world to me." 


Patterson graduated from Bradley County Virtual this past spring as the valedictorian. She plans to graduate from Lee in 2025 with a BSN and then continue her education to earn her doctorate degree to become a nurse practitioner. 


"Destiny is a dedicated, hard-working, and intelligent student, and it has been my pleasure to serve as her professor" said Dr. Debra Gladden, associate professor of mathematics. "She is capable of doing great things, and I look forward to seeing her reach her full potential here at Lee." 


The Tucker Foundation established the nursing scholarship in 2014 to support students from southeast Tennessee enrolled in Lee University's nursing program. The Tucker Foundation also established a scholarship for natural science and mathematics at the university in 2009. Both scholarships were established on behalf of Mr. and Mrs. Summerfield K. Johnston, Jr. 


Recipients of the Tucker Foundation Endowed Scholarship in Nursing are selected by a nursing scholarship committee comprised of the Dean of Nursing and nursing faculty with input from the financial aid office. The scholarship award is renewable for four years until graduation. 


For more information about the Tucker Foundation Scholarship, contact the School of Nursing at (423) 614-8526.

Created at by
Last modified at by