Campus News: Lee Awarded Best Chapter for Pi Sigma Alpha

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
Lee Awarded Best Chapter for Pi Sigma Alpha
Lindsey Johnson - 10/22/2020

Lee Awarded Best Chapter for Pi Sigma Alpha
The Alpha Alpha Gamma Chapter has received the Best Chapter Award for the 2019-2020 season from Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honors society. 
Each season, Pi Sigma Alpha selects chapters across the country to receive the award in order "to recognize local chapters that are particularly active in their departments and universities and exhibit high levels of energy and creativity in furthering the goals of the honor society," as stated in a celebratory email from Sean Twombly, the executive director of Pi Sigma Alpha, to the faculty and officers of the 2019-2020 Alpha Alpha Gamma Chapter.  
The Political Science Department at Lee has run its own chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha for six years, and the 2019-2020 season is the fifth year that Lee's chapter has been awarded this title. According to Twombly, Alpha Alpha Gamma received a $500 cash award for the hard work and dedication throughout the 2019-2020 season despite complications due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dr. Thomas Pope, associate professor of political science; Dr. Mark Scully, assistant professor of political science; and Dr. Ana Shippey, associate professor of political science, are the faculty members who run this chapter alongside the student officers.  

"This award is very significant to us — faculty and students alike," said Shippey. "Having won Best Chapter Award for five years in a row points to our consistent efforts to build community over the years."
Lee political science alumna Melissa Haley was the president of Alpha Alpha Gamma for 2019-2020, and Katie Philyaw has recently been appointed to the position for 2020-2021. 
For more information on Alpha Alpha Gamma Chapter, contact the Department of History, Political Science, and Humanities at (423) 614-8137 or

Created at by
Last modified at by