Campus News: KDP Honors Educators, Inducts New Members

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
KDP Honors Educators, Inducts New Members
Cana Cooper - 11/20/2019

KDP Honors Educators, Inducts New Members


The Lee University chapter of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) recently held an induction ceremony for new members and honored three local educators. The ceremony took place at Lee's Helen DeVos College of Education.


Each year, Lee's KDP highlights educators who have made impactful contributions to both their students and the community. The 2019 honorees were Kim Davidson, Heather Forshee, and Robbie Winters.


"These educators exemplify all the ideals that KDP holds true, and therefore we wanted to take the time to honor them for all they have given and continue to give to the profession of education," said Dr. Shane Brown, assistant professor of education.


Davidson has been in the educational field for 13 years. She is currently a special education teacher at Blythe Bower Elementary, where she was named the 2016 Teacher of the Year. She was also selected to speak at the Partners of Education Conference in 2015. Davidson previously held a position at Jefferson County High School as a teacher in its comprehensive development classroom.


Forshee is a fifth grade teacher at East Brainerd Elementary. She received her Master of Education from Lee University. Forshee has been in the education profession for 11 years. Prior to her current position, Forshee was a third, fourth, and fifth grade teacher at East Lake Elementary School. She was also a Golden Apple Award winner.


Winters, principal at Michigan Avenue Elementary, has been in education for 20 years. He previously served as a teacher at Lake Forest Middle School. Winters has received several teaching awards prior to this ceremony such as Teacher of the Year and the position of a Governor's Academy for School Leadership fellow. Winters earned a master's degree in instructional leadership from Tennessee Technological University and a masters and bachelor's degree from Lee University.


During the ceremony, new students were inducted into the honor society. These students include Miranda Atkins, John Brown, Brooklyn Jade Cheatham, Sarah Dodson, Samantha Eason, Paul Fortmiller, Mary Katherine Givhan, Laura Guy, Aleigha Harris, Annabelle Jones, Justin Lynch, Hanna Matthews, Lauren Mills, Lauren Passmore, Emily Peerbolte, Hannah Plantholt, Ashlyn Powers, Hannah Rogers, and Bianca Vanciu.


KDP, an international honor society in education, conducts itself on the vision to "help committed educators be leaders in improving education for global citizenship."


For more information on Lee's Helen DeVos College of Education, call (423) 614-8175 or email

Created at by
Last modified at by