Campus News: Charles W. Conn 2019 Award Winners

Manage PermissionsManage Permissions
Charles W. Conn 2019 Award Winners
- 5/2/2019

​Pictured here from left to right is Dr. Paul Conn, Lee president; Amy Satink; Dr. Susan Ashcraft; Johnny McGuire; Dr. William Lamb, director of Leonard Center; and Dr. Mike Hayes, vice president for student development.

​During a recent chapel service, the Dr. Charles W. Conn Servant Leadership Award was presented to Lee students Amy Satink and Johnny McGuire and Lee faculty Dr. Susan Ashcraft.


The Dr. Charles W. Conn Servant Leadership Scholarship, established in 2003, honors President Emeritus Charles W. Conn. He served as Lee's president from 1970 to 1982, and a spirit of servant leadership marked his tenure.


As part of the university's efforts to emphasize the importance of serving others, the award is given annually to rising seniors who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to service during their time at Lee. Students who receive this scholarship give a portion of the proceeds to a charity of their choice.


Satink is an elementary education major from Mint Hill, North Carolina. She currently serves as the secretary for student learning on the Student Leadership Council. She also works in the Helen DeVos College of Education and is a teaching assistant for an undergraduate leadership course. Satink has been a Gateway peer leader and worked in Lee's Writing Center. This past summer, she was selected by Samaritan's Purse for an Operation Christmas Child Vision Trip to the Philippines.


"Amy's servant's heart is marked by her consistency and dedication," said Satink's nominator. "She is one that you can always depend on, as she will lay aside her own needs for others. She has a pure selflessness that is rare."


McGuire is a youth ministry major from Dayton, Ohio. He has served as a resident assistant in Bowdle/O'Bannon and as the director of Crossover, a student led ministry created to reach out to the low income communities within East Cleveland. During the summers, McGuire returns to his home church to work as the children's ministry pastor. 


"His heart for ministry is powerful, and he represents servant leadership to his community," said McGuire's nominator. "His servant leadership is something that pours over into every aspect of his life."


Ashcraft joined Lee's Department of Behavioral and Social Sciences in 2001 and currently serves as a professor of psychology and human development. She "responds with humility and a heart of service to help meet the need." She is the director of Beloved, a ministry for the female faculty and students, and teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses including Marriage and Family, Psychology of Human Sexuality, Lifespan Development and Psychology of Gender.


Satink and McGuire are the 15th group of students to receive this award, while Ashcraft is the 12th faculty member to be honored.

Created at by
Last modified at by